Skip to main content

About the Honors College

Welcome to the Honors College at Georgia Southern University! We are an inclusive community of scholars that fosters intellectual and professional development through undergraduate research and creative scholarship, experiential learning, global engagement, and personalized mentorship.

Dr. Steven Engel, Dean

Office: 1027 Eidson House, Statesboro and 101 Solms Hall, Armstrong


Dr. Steven Engel is a Professor of Political Science and has been at Georgia Southern since 1999. In 2005, he took the lead role as Director for the University Honors Program and became Dean when the program became the Honors College. He is on the editorial board of the journal, Honors in Practice, has authored several articles and book chapters on honors education and covering topics in political science, and in 2018 was named a Fellow of the National Collegiate Honors Council.

Dr. Francis Desiderio, Associate Dean

Office: 1003 Eidson House, Statesboro and 101 Solms Hall, Armstrong


Dr. Francis Desiderio has been at Georgia Southern since 2009. He earned his Ph.D. from the Graduate Institute of the Liberal Arts at Emory University where his research interests were in American studies and urban studies. He has an M.A. from the Department of Popular Culture at Bowling Green State University, and his undergraduate degree is in English from the University of Detroit. He works with every aspect of the College with particular attention to honors curriculum, experiential learning, service-learning, and nationally competitive scholarships.

Sami Strickland, Student Engagement Coordinator

Office: 101 Solms Hall, Armstrong, and 1009 Eidson House, Statesboro


Sami Strickland joined the Honors College in 2021 and serves as the Student Engagement Coordinator. Sami earned her M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration from Georgia Southern University in the Spring of 2021. In 2018, she completed her B.A. in English from Georgia College & State University and graduated from the Honors Program. Sami assists students in completing the requirements to graduate from the Honors College and advises the Honors College Student Organizations on the Statesboro and Armstrong Campuses. 

Sue Guadagno, Executive Assistant

Office: 1020 Eidson House, Statesboro


Sue Guadagno joined the Honors College as the Senior Administrative Assistant in January 2016. She has been with Georgia Southern since December of 2006, starting as an accounting assistant in the Bursar’s Office where she worked for six years before joining the Department of Foreign Language as the administrative secretary for three years. She is a big sports fan and enjoys watching football, basketball, and softball games. 

Statesboro Campus
Phone: (912) 478-7926

Honors College
Eidson House
P.O. Box 8130
Statesboro, GA 30460

Building 105 on the Statesboro campus map

Armstrong Campus
Honors College
Solms Hall 101
11935 Abercorn Street
Savannah, GA 31419

Building 10 on the Armstrong campus map

Rami Haddad (2023), Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Computing Representative

Joe Pellegrino (2022), College of Arts and Humanities Representative

Jamie Scalera (2024), College of Behavioral and Social Sciences Representative

Meca Williams-Johnson (2023), College of Education Representative

Jennifer Zettler (2025), College of Science and Mathematics Representative

Nandi Marshall (2024), Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health Representative

Nick Mangee (2024), Parker College of Business Representative

Matthew Williamson (2025), Waters College of Health Professions Representative

Lauren McMillian (2024), Libraries Representative

Allison Belzer (2025), At-large Representative

Michelle Haberland (2022), At-large Representative

Nancy McCarley (2023), At-large Representative

Jennifer Primatic (2023), Honors Student Organization President, Statesboro

Shima Omar (2023), Honors Student Organization President, Armstrong

Steve Engel, Dean

Francis Desiderio, Associate Dean

Last updated: 7/26/2022